• Nomination and Election Process 

     The nominations period for the 2019 election closed as of 1 March 2019.

    • All nominations other than District Vice President are reviewed by the Nominating Committee
    • Any ISA member may submit a nomination
    • All eligible nominees are asked to submit a candidate packet
    • The Nominating Committee reviews and evaluates candidate packets and may conduct interviews
    • Nominations are also accepted by petition in accordance with ISA Bylaws
    • The election is open in June to eligible voters
    • District Vice Presidents nominations and elections are coordinated by the District Nominating Committee
    • Any member of the District may recommend a candidate for District Vice President


    The responsibilities of each group are outlined in the Society's Manual of Organization and Procedures. Below is a list of attributes desired in all elected leaders. Also included are detailed descriptions of the responsibilities of each role. Before applying for a leadership role, please review the obligations and ensure that you are willing to and have the support from your employer and family to meet these commitments. 

    ISA Leadership Attributes

    • A contagious passion for promoting the ISA brand and the automation profession
    • Strong knowledge of ISA’s core competencies, products and services
    • An interest in visioning the role ISA plays in the future of the automation community
    • The desire to understand the diversity of ISA’s constituencies and a commitment to act in the overall interests of the Society
    • An understanding of basic financial principles with the ability to exercise sound business judgments
    • An innovative mindset and ability to engage and empower members in driving change to meet strategic objectives
    • Effective verbal and written communication skills
    • The ability to develop and lead teams with a willingness to hold volunteers accountable 

    Open Positions 

    • President-elect Secretary (2021 President)
    • Executive Board Member
    • Department Vice President-elect:
      • Automation & Technology
      • Image & Membership
      • Industries & Sciences
      • Professional Development
      • Publications

    Position Descriptions

    Society Election Results

    The results of the 2018 election are in. Thank you to all nominees for their willingness to serve and all those who voted in the election. 

    Society President-elect Secretary (2020 President)
    Eric C. Cosman

    Jon DiPietro

    Executive Board Member: Geographic 
    Mark Arkell
    Scott Reynolds

    Executive Board Member: Operational
    Shari Worthington

    Executive Board Member: Technical
    Maurice Wilkins  

    Image and Membership Vice President-elect
    Jagdish Shukla

    Publications Vice President
    Vitor Finkel

    Standards and Practices Vice President-elect:
    Dennis Zetterberg  

    Strategic Planning Vice President-elect:
    Nick Sands  

    Please note that, of the 12,946 eligible voters, 4.23% participated in the election. All leaders will begin their term on 1 January 2019.

    Contact ISA Elections for additional information.

    Celebrating Excellence Nomination Software