Nominations and Election Process

Society Officer, Executive Board, and Vice President Nominations.

Do you know someone who would make a great leader for ISA? Nominations are open through 1 March, 2022. Submit a nomination today.


  • All nominations other than District Vice President are reviewed by the Nominating Committee
  • Any ISA member may submit a nomination
  • All eligible nominees are asked to submit a candidate packet
  • The Nominating Committee reviews and evaluates candidate packets and may conduct interviews
  • Nominations are also accepted by petition in accordance with ISA Bylaws
  • The election is open in June to eligible voters
  • District Vice Presidents nominations and elections are coordinated by the District Nominating Committee
  • Any member of the District may recommend a candidate for District Vice President


The responsibilities of each group are outlined in the Society's Manual of Organization Charters. Below is a list of attributes desired in all elected leaders. Also included are detailed descriptions of the responsibilities of each role. Before applying for a leadership role, please review the obligations and ensure that you are willing to and have the support from your employer and family to meet these commitments.

ISA Leadership Attributes

  • A contagious passion for promoting the ISA brand and the automation profession
  • Strong knowledge of ISA’s core competencies, products and services
  • An interest in visioning the role ISA plays in the future of the automation community
  • The desire to understand the diversity of ISA’s constituencies and a commitment to act in the overall interests of the Society
  • An understanding of basic financial principles with the ability to exercise sound business judgments
  • An innovative mindset and ability to engage and empower members in driving change to meet strategic objectives
  • Effective verbal and written communication skills
  • The ability to develop and lead teams with a willingness to hold volunteers accountable 

Position Descriptions

2021 Society Election Results 

Thank you to all nominees for their willingness to serve and too all those who voted in the election.

President-Elect Secretary (2023 President)

  • Marty Bince

Executive Board Members

  • Ardis Bartle
  • ​Maxym Lachance
  • J. Andrew Parsons
  • Jagdish Shukla
  • Maurice Wilkins

Automation & Technology Vice President-Elect

  • Andre Michel                                            

Publications Vice President-Elect

  • Nicholas Sands

Voter turnout reached 6.10%. All leaders will begin their term on 1 January 2022.