• ISA99, Industrial Automation and Control Systems Security


    The ISA99 standards development committee brings together industrial cyber security experts from across the globe to develop ISA standards on industrial automation and control systems security. This original and ongoing ISA99 work is being utiilized by the International Electrotechnical Commission in producing the multi-standard IEC 62443 series.

    Below you will see the official scope and purpose of ISA99, and the complete list of experts currently on the committee. New participants are always welcome -- and you need not be a member of ISA to participate.

    For the latest information on ISA99 and the ongoing development of the ISA/IEC 62443 series of standards on the cyber security of industrial automation and control systems,  please visit: ISA99 Wiki.

    ISA99 Scope

    The ISA99 Committee addresses industrial automation and control systems whose compromise could result in any or all of the following situations:

    • endangerment of public or employee safety
    • loss of public confidence
    • violation of regulatory requirements
    • loss of proprietary or confidential information
    • economic loss
    • impact on national security

    The concept of manufacturing and control systems electronic security is applied in the broadest possible sense, encompassing all types of plants, facilities, and systems in all industries.  Manufacturing and control systems include, but are not limited to:

    • hardware and software systems such as DCS, PLC, SCADA, networked electronic sensing, and monitoring and diagnostic systems
    • associated internal, human, network, or machine interfaces used to provide control, safety, and manufacturing operations functionality to continuous, batch, discrete, and other processes.

    Physical security is an important component in the overall integrity of any control system environment, but it is not specifically addressed in this series of documents.

    ISA99 Purpose

    The ISA99 Committee will establish standards, recommended practices, technical reports, and related information that will define procedures for implementing electronically secure manufacturing and control systems and security practices and assessing electronic security performance.    Guidance is directed towards those responsible for designing, implementing, or managing manufacturing and control systems and shall also apply to users, system integrators, security practitioners, and control systems manufacturers and vendors. 

    The Committee's focus is to improve the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of components or systems used for manufacturing or control and provide criteria for procuring and implementing secure control systems. Compliance with the Committee's guidance will improve manufacturing and control system electronic security, and will help identify vulnerabilities and address them, thereby reducing the risk of compromising confidential information or causing Manufacturing Control Systems degradation or failure.

    The Co-Chairs of ISA99 are Jim Gilsinn and Eric Cosman.  If you are interested in assisting in the work of ISA99, or would like more information, please contact Charley Robinson, ISA Standards.

  • Contacts

    Voting Member Chair
    Eric Cosman

    eric.cosman@gmail.com
    (989)492 0599

    Voting Member Chair
    James Gilsinn

    jimgilsinn@gmail.com
    (614) 3232254

    Voting Member Managing Director
    Joseph Weiss

    joe.weiss@realtimeacs.com
    (408) 2537934

    Voting Member
    Meredith Allen

    mmallen@metcalfepllc.com
    (704) 7781537

    Voting Member
    Dennis Brandl

    dnbrandl@brlconsulting.com
    (919) 8525322

    Voting Member
    Eric Byres

    eric.byres@make-iot-secure.com
    (604)897 9980

    Voting Member
    William Cotter

    wjcotter@mmm.com
    (651) 7373107

    Voting Member
    Ed Crawford

    ecrawford0510@gmail.com
    7-7123027004

    Voting Member
    John Cusimano

    john.cusimano@aesolns.com
    (267)640 6760

    Voting Member
    Maarten de Caluwe

    mgdecaluwe@dow.com
    31 31115671234

    Voting Member
    Mark Fabro

    fabro@loftyperch.com
    (905) 4892827 EXT 13

    Voting Member
    Ronald Forrest

    ron@rc4rest.com
    (614) 5828479

    Voting Member
    Thomas Good

    tgood8084@gmail.com
    (302)545 4592

    Voting Member
    Jean-Pierre Hauet

    jean-pierre@hauet.com
    33 33141290509

    Voting Member
    Mark Heard

    tmd@mac.com
    (423) 6776925

    Voting Member
    Dennis Holstein

    holsteindk@ocg2u.com
    (562) 7164174

    Voting Member
    Bruce Honda

    hondabg@hotmail.com
    (253) 8380734

    Voting Member
    Eric Hopp

    standards@hopp.info
    (248) 9068880

    Voting Member
    Nate Kube

    nkube@wurldtech.com
    (604) 6696674

    Voting Member
    Joel Langill

    joel@scadahacker.com
    (505) 9198111

    Voting Member
    Suzanne Lightman

    suzanne.lightman@nist.gov
    (301) 9754462

    Voting Member
    Charles Mastromonico

    charles.mastromonico@srs.gov
    (803) 9526913

    Voting Member
    Michael Medoff

    mmedoff@exida.com
    (215) 4531720

    Voting Member
    Lee Neitzel

    lee.neitzel@ge.com
    (512)963 9909

    Voting Member
    Johan Nye

    johan.b.nye@exxonmobil.com
    (832)625 6610

    Voting Member
    Bryan Owen

    bryan@osisoft.com
    (360) 5770807

    Voting Member
    Tom Phinney

    tom.phinney@cox.net

    Voting Member
    Jeff Potter

    jeff.potter@emerson.com
    (952) 8283304

    Voting Member
    Judith Rossebo

    judith.rossebo@no.abb.com
    47 4722874725

    Voting Member
    Miroslaw Ryba

    miroslaw.ryba@pl.ey.com
    48(22)5577850

    Voting Member
    Omar Sherin

    omar.sherin@gmail.com
    974- 9744995446

    Voting Member
    Graham Speake

    gspeake@berkanaresources.com
    (713)397 1903

    Voting Member
    Kevin Staggs

    kevin.p.staggs@honeywell.com
    (602) 2931540

    Voting Member
    Leon Steinocher

    leonsteinocher@yahoo.com
    (361) 7984817

    Voting Member
    Tatsuaki Takebe

    tttakebe@gmail.com
    81(3354)85305

    Voting Member
    Bradley Taylor

    brdtaylor@gmail.com
    (410)267 0357

    Voting Member
    William Thomson

    wthomson@cisco.com
    (512) 3787547

    Voting Member
    Ted Trost

    ted_trost@cargill.com
    (952)984 5129

    Voting Member
    Zachary Tudor

    ztudor@gmail.com
    (208)526 5051

    Voting Member
    Ludwig Winkel

    ludwig.winkel@siemens.com
    +49-72-159-56098

    Alternate Member
    Mike Bush

    mabush@ra.rockwell.com
    (440) 6463747

    Alternate Member
    Gabe Faifman

    gfaifman@wurldtech.com
    (604) 6696674 EXT 713

    Alternate Member
    Ashok Nangia

    aknangia1@mmm.com
    (651) 7372731

    Alternate Member
    Ragnar Schierholz

    ragnar.schierholz@de.abb.com
    49

    Alternate Member
    Bryan Singer

    bsinger74@gmail.com
    (205) 6122295

    Staff Contact
    Eliana Brazda

    ebrazda@isa.org
    (919) 9909228

    Staff Contact
    Charley Robinson

    crobinson@isa.org
    (919) 9909213

    Staff Contact
    Linda Wolffe

    lwolffe@isa.org
    (919) 9909257

    Webmaster
    Johan Nye

    johan.b.nye@exxonmobil.com
    (832)625 6610

    Webmaster
    Kevin Staggs

    kevin.p.staggs@honeywell.com
    (602) 2931540