• ISA104,Device Integration


    Visit EDDL.org

    Purpose

    To develop or adopt, and to facilitate the application of standards and technical reports that represent device and interface descriptions for function control and data access of field devices in automation systems.

    Scope

    The generic language used to describe the properties of automation system components shall be capable of describing:

    • device parameters and their dependencies
    • device functions
    • graphical representations, for example charts
    • interactions with control devices

    The Field Device Integration (FDI) standard, IEC 62769, specifies a client/server architecture wherein device packages provided by a device manufacturer configure a server. The clients access the device-specific information of the device package via a standardized information model.

    The FDI standard integrates concepts of both the Electronic Device Description Language (EDDL, standardized in IEC 61804-3) and Field Device Technology (FDT, standardized in IEC 62453). Overlapping functionality of EDD and FDT DTM aspects are concentrated in one component. This reduces efforts for device manufacturers who use FDI technology and increases the scalability of description of devices from simple devices with a low number of variables to complex devices with advanced remote control and configuration interactions. Also, FDI standardizes an explicit common information model for field devices which is implicitly contained in the existing EDDL technology.

    The EDDL standard is used to create an "Electronic Device Descriptions (EDD)" file. These files may be used with appropriate tools to generate interpretative code to support parameter handling, operation, and monitoring of automation system components. Tool implementation is outside the scope of this specification. The EDDL Standard specifies the semantic and lexical structure in a syntax independent manner. A specific syntax shall be defined, but it is possible to use the semantic model with a different syntax.

    All components, device package, client, server, information model and the interface between client and server are within the scope of these standards. The intended result is a seamless integration of legacy and newly developed field device components in control and engineering systems.

    If you are interested in joining ISA104 with any of these ongoing work efforts or would like additional information, please contact Linda Wolffe at lwolffe@isa.org or (919) 990-9257.

    More About ISA104 (PDF file, 295kb)

  • Contacts

    Voting Member Chair
    Terry Blevins

    terry.blevins@emerson.com
    (512) 4184628

    Voting Member Managing Director
    James (Jim) Jamison

    jamison.assoc@shaw.com
    (403)463 6112

    Voting Member
    Richard Caro

    rcaro@cmc.us
    (978) 2061449

    Voting Member
    Christian Diedrich

    christian.diedrich@ifak.eu
    49

    Voting Member
    Ren Jie Huang

    huangrj@swu.edu.cn
    86 862368252940

    Voting Member
    Christian Verney

    verney.christian@orange.fr
    330686400786

    Voting Member
    Ludwig Winkel

    ludwig.winkel@siemens.com
    49

    Alternate Member
    Jonas Berge

    jberge@singnet.com.sg
    65 6567708568

    Alternate Member
    Ingo Weber

    ingo.weber@siemens.com
    49

    Information Member
    Amit Ajmeri

    amit.ajmeri@us.yokogawa.com
    (281) 3403817

    Information Member
    Renato Arias

    renato.w.arias@gmail.com
    (909) 8561047

    Information Member
    Sebastien Cabaret

    sebastien.cabaret@ge.com
    33 33084591613

    Information Member
    Em DelaHostria

    egdelahostria@ra.rockwell.com
    (440) 6467324

    Information Member
    Gavan Hood

    gwhood@simul-tech.com
    61(439)838477

    Information Member
    Javier Hurtado

    jahurtadomera@unicauca.edu.co
    57- 5728326582

    Information Member
    Bob Jackson

    jacksonb@chevron.com
    (661) 3314719

    Information Member
    Rohit Kadam

    rohit.kadam@okstate.edu
    (405) 3343104

    Information Member
    Mahendra Kancharla

    mgimahi@gmail.com
    6594730936

    Information Member
    Marina Krotofil

    marina.krotofil@tuhh.de
    49

    Information Member
    Edward Ladd

    edtladd@gmail.com
    (512)296 4546

    Information Member
    Klaus-Peter Lindner

    klaus-peter.lindner@solutions.endress.com
    41(61)7157348

    Information Member
    Stephen Mitschke

    smitschke@fieldcommgroup.org
    (512)792 2286

    Information Member
    Doug Morris

    doug.morris@emerson.com
    (507) 6649505

    Information Member
    Nobuyuki OGURA

    nobu.ogura@nifty.com
    81 81294354438

    Information Member
    Rajkumar Rajendran

    yokofoxshell@yahoo.com
    919902058625

    Information Member
    Dave Smith

    dsmith@jebtech.net
    (281) 2015515

    Information Member
    Jean Vieille

    j.vieille@controlchaingroup.com
    33 33674454727

    Information Member
    Qi YAN

    qi.yan@emerson.com
    86 13918009479

    Information Member
    Jimmy Yap

    jjyap@chevron.com
    (713) 3727381