• ISA103, Field Device Tool Interface


    Scope

    1) To provide input to IEC SC65E WG4.

    2) To define the interfaces for both the vertical and the horizontal data flow, called Function Control and Data Access, in the framework of a Client-Server architecture. It shall allow application software and configuration tools to interact with field devices in a unified way, while hiding the manufacturer-specific interaction with devices or sub-systems in a software module.

    3) This standard shall allow any field bus, device or sub-system specific software tool to be integrated as part of a universal life-cycle management tool of a plant automation system.

    Purpose

    1) To ensure the consistent management of a plant-wide control and automation technology, it is necessary to fully integrate fieldbuses, devices and sub-systems as seamless part of a wide range of automation tasks covering the whole automation life-cycle. The main aims are:

    • Universal and central plant-wide tooling for the life-cycle management of heterogeneous fieldbus environments, multi-vendor devices and sub-systems independently of the automation domain (e.g. process, manufacturing)
    • Integrated and consistent life-cycle data of the control system including the fieldbuses, devices and sub-systems ·
    • Simple but still powerful vendor-independent integration of different automation devices and sub-systems into the life-cycle management tools of a control system.

    2) The main application domains are industrial process control and manufacturing execution systems.

    3) The benefits are savings in operation, engineering and maintenance of the control systems.

    For more information, please contact

    Eliana Brazda
    ISA Standards Administrator
    ebrazda@isa.org
    (919) 990-9228

  • Contacts

    Voting Member Chair
    Ian Verhappen

    iverhappen@industrialautomationnetworks.com
    4039900955

    Voting Member Managing Director
    James (Jim) Jamison

    jamison.assoc@shaw.com
    (403)463 6112

    Voting Member
    Shannon Foos

    srfoos@ra.rockwell.com
    (440) 6463469

    Voting Member
    Klaus-Peter Lindner

    klaus-peter.lindner@solutions.endress.com
    41(61)7157348

    Voting Member
    Dave Smith

    dsmith@jebtech.net
    (281) 2015515

    Voting Member
    Scott Wilkerson

    scott.wilkerson@emerson.com
    (434)515 3700

    Information Member
    Ashok Acharya

    aacharya@meridium.com
    (540)344 9205 EXT 1396

    Information Member
    Amit Ajmeri

    amit.ajmeri@us.yokogawa.com
    (281) 3403817

    Information Member
    Hamad Balhareth

    hamad.balhareth.3@aramco.com

    Information Member
    Sebastien Cabaret

    sebastien.cabaret@ge.com
    33 33084591613

    Information Member
    Richard Caro

    rcaro@cmc.us
    (978) 2061449

    Information Member
    Em DelaHostria

    em.delahostria@gmail.com
    (440) 6467324

    Information Member
    Stanly Johnson Jeyaraj

    drstanly_johnson@yahoo.com
    966(56)9711576

    Information Member
    Meghal Joshi

    meghal.joshi@gmail.com
    974-33064749

    Information Member
    Marina Krotofil

    marina.krotofil@tuhh.de
    49

    Information Member
    Mart Louisse

    mart.louisse@aramco.nl
    31 31882622358

    Information Member
    Patty Penney

    plpenney@dow.com
    (409) 2385828

    Information Member
    Uy Pham

    uy.pham@chevron.com
    (713) 4323281

    Information Member
    Rick Shauger

    rshauger@flowserve.com
    (281) 2927500

    Information Member
    Patrick Skweres

    pcskweres@comcast.net
    (281) 4992141

    Information Member
    Christian Verney

    verney.christian@orange.fr
    330686400786

    Information Member
    Jean Vieille

    j.vieille@controlchaingroup.com
    33 33674454727

    Information Member
    Qi YAN

    qi.yan@emerson.com
    86 13918009479

    Information Member
    Zhang Yu

    zhangyu@swnu.edu.cn
    86 862368252940