• ISA102, High-Power Research and Development Electrical Systems Standards


    A Word from the Managing Director

    "High voltage energy standards are necessary in this market, so ISA is bringing together the best minds in the industry to work on this committee," said Ted Schnaare, S&P Board. The committee is organized to be the focal point in the High-Power R&D Electrical Systems Community for documenting criteria, standards, practices, and procedures related to the design, fabrication, and operation of high power electrical systems, and the associated control, monitoring, safety, and protection systems for national and international research programs in accelerators, pulsed power applications, and high power lasers.

    Scope

    High-power electrical systems including power supplies, radio frequency power systems, energy storage, and pulse forming networks, and their associated control, monitoring, data acquisition, safety, and protection systems.

    Purpose

    To develop standards, recommended practices, technical reports and related information documenting design, fabrication, installation, operation, and maintenance of high power electrical systems, and their associated control, monitoring, safety, and protection systems for national and international research programs in accelerators, pulsed power applications, and high power lasers.

    Existing codes and standards do not address practical application of these systems or the safety issues associated with these systems.

    Initial projects include: 1) Standards for controlling hazards in R&D direct current systems and 2) Standards for controlling hazards associated with capacitors and R&D power storage systems.

    For more information, please contact

    Eliana Brazda
    ISA Standards Administrator
    ebrazda@isa.org
    (919) 990-9228

  • Contacts

    Managing Director
    Ted Schnaare

    ted.schnaare@emerson.com
    (952)204 4168

    Co-Chairman
    Perry Anthony

    anthony@slac.stanford.edu
    (650) 9264354

    Co-Chairman
    Lloyd Gordon

    lbdragonli@gmail.com
    (505) 6607161

    Voting Member
    David Anderson


    Voting Member
    Donald Bourcier

    bourcier@lanl.gov
    (702) 2959354

    Voting Member
    Tom Caronna

    tscaronna@lbl.gov
    (510) 4864314

    Voting Member
    Bob Casey


    Voting Member
    Richard Cassel

    rlc@slac.stanford.edu
    (650) 9262299

    Voting Member
    Tom Childers

    thomas.r.childers@us.ul.com
    (408) 5566207 EXT 55629

    Voting Member
    Wes Craddock

    wwc@slac.stanford.edu
    (650) 9262264

    Voting Member
    Gary Dreifuerst


    Voting Member
    Terry Fogle

    tfogle@lanl.gov
    (505) 6657377

    Voting Member
    George Glass

    gglass@lanl.gov
    (505) 6650752

    Voting Member
    Saul Gold

    slg@slac.stanford.edu
    (650) 9264450

    Voting Member
    Michael Gordon

    mgordon@lanl.gov
    (505) 6654891

    Voting Member
    William Kroutil

    wrk@slac.stanford.edu
    (650) 9264785

    Voting Member
    Raymond Larson

    larsen@slac.stanford.edu
    (650) 9264907

    Voting Member
    Dennis Lawrence

    dgcollins@lbl.gov
    (510) 4867859

    Voting Member
    Thomas McNaughton

    mcnaughton_t_e@q.com
    (505) 6657187

    Voting Member
    Bob Mueller

    rsmueller@lbl.gov
    (510) 4952919

    Voting Member
    Oge Onyenekwu

    oonyenekwu@yahoo.com
    234 2348055501182

    Voting Member
    Eugene Ormond


    Voting Member
    Jay Samuels

    jssamuels@lanl.gov
    (505) 6673110

    Voting Member
    Scott Semanision


    Voting Member
    Bobby Sparks


    Voting Member
    Darin Westley


    Information Member
    Arati Baruah

    arati.b.baruah@boeing.com
    (206) 6624580

    Information Member
    Edson Bortoni

    bortoni@unifei.edu.br
    55 35 36291353

    Information Member
    Pedro Carrion Salome

    pmig26@hotmail.com
    51-986635200

    Information Member
    James Luhring

    jluhring@comcast.net
    (803) 5574795

    Information Member
    Nihar Mishra

    nihar.mishra@cognizant.com
    91 919618950196

    Information Member
    Khalid Zaman

    kzaman@gie.com
    (713) 8503208

    Secretary
    Wayne Linebarger

    wayne@slac.stanford.edu
    (650) 9263972

    Staff Contact
    Linda Wolffe

    lwolffe@isa.org
    (919) 9909257