IACS Cybersecurity Design, Implementation & Testing (IC34M)


The second phase in the IACS Cybersecurity Lifecycle (defined in ISA/IEC 62443-1-1) focuses on the activities associated with the design and implementation of IACS cybersecurity countermeasures. This involves the selection of appropriate countermeasures based upon their security level capability and the nature of the threats and vulnerabilities identified in the Assess phase. This phase also includes cybersecurity acceptance testing of the integrated solution, in order to validate countermeasures are properly implemented and that the IACS has achieved the target security level

This course will provide students with the information and skills to select and implement cybersecurity countermeasures for a new or existing IACS in order to achieve the target security level assigned to each IACS zone or conduit. Additionally, students will learn how to develop and execute test plans to verify that the cybersecurity of an IACS solution has properly satisfied the objectives in the cybersecurity requirements specification.

Length: Eight modules (10-30 minutes each)
CEUs: Full Course 0.7
Certification of Completion: A Certificate of Completion indicating the total number of CEUs earned will be provided upon successful completion of the course.
Certificate Program: Part of the ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Certificate Program: After successfully completing all eight modules, students may take the exam for ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Design Specialist  Exam is included in the Full Course Bundle but must be purchased separately if modules are purchased separately.

Full Course Bundle includes

Eight (8) on-demand modules (Approx.10-30 minutes each)

  • Module 1: Assessment Overview
  • Module 2: Conceptual Design
  • Module 3: Detailed Design
  • Module 4: Firewalls
  • Module 5: Intrusion Detection Systems
  • Module 6: Intrusion Detection Systems (Cont'd)
  • Module 7: Access Control
  • Module 8: Cybersecurity Acceptance Testing

Exam fee ($200 value) for ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Risk Assessment Specialist

You will cover

Review the ICS Cybersecurity Lifecycle

  • Assessment phase
  • Implementation phase
  • Maintenance phase

Conceptual Design Process

  • Interpreting risk assessment results
  • Cybersecurity requirements specifications
  • Developing a conceptual design
  • Conceptual design specification

Detailed Design Process

  • Security Development Lifecycle (SDL)
  • Types of technology
  • Selecting appropriate technology
  • Developing a detailed design
  • Documenting the design/specification

Design & Implementation Examples

  • Firewall design example
  • Remote access design example
  • System hardening design example
  • Intrusion detection design example


  • Developing test plans
  • Cybersecurity Factory Acceptance Testing
  • Cybersecurity Site Acceptance Testing

Who Should Attend

  • Control systems engineers and managers
  • System Integrators
  • IT engineers and managers industrial facilities
  • Plant Managers
  • Plant Safety and Risk Management

Recommended Pre-Requisite

ISA Course IC32 and IC33/IC34M or equivalent knowledge/experience.

For more information

Contact us at +1 919-549-8411 or info@isa.org to start your company on the path to well-trained employees.