October 2008

Deserving students get paid for school

Lina Tucker Jensen knew as a student at Georgia Tech, she would have to watch her pennies. She made sure to keep a close eye on the loans she took out and find more ways to save money. "Going into debt for school was not an easy decision," she said. "But I was forced to because of my financial situation."  Fortunately for Jensen, she was also one of ISA's 2008 Education Foundation Scholarship recipients, receiving a $5,000 scholarship for her time at Georgia Tech. So instead of worrying about finances, Jensen could concentrate on what she was in school for, mechanical engineering.

ISA awarded Educational Foundation Scholarships again this year to college and university students who demonstrated outstanding potential for long-range contribution to the fields of automation and control. The scholarship awards support tuition and related expenses and research activities and initiatives.

The Society distributed $40,000 among 2-year, 4-year, and graduate program participants. Contributors within the ISA Educational Foundation included the Norman E. Huston Endowment, Paros-Digiquartz Fund, the Bob and Mary Ives Endowment, and the ISA Chemical & Petroleum Industries Division Endowment.

 "This scholarship made it possible for me to actually save money this semester," Jensen said. "I am so grateful for the huge financial burden that has been lifted from my shoulders." The timing of the award was even more meaningful for Jensen, who was married this past summer and plans to graduate spring 2009.

Other 2008 recipients include:

2-year program:

  • April Lynn Lemus, Lee College, Baytown, Tex., Electrical Technology & Design Technology
  • Amy Lynn Klassen, Palo Alto College, San Antonio, Tex., A.A.S., Industrial Automation
  • Dana Marie Riddoch, Northern Alberta Institute of Technology, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, Instrumentation Engineering Technology


  • Nirmit Vidyut Parikh, Institute of Technology, Nirma University of Science & Technology, Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India, Instrumentation and Control
  • Gregory Alan Ciccarelli, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Electrical Engineering
  • Samuel Coburn Kucera, The University of Tulsa, Engineering Physics
  • Josephine Shabbir Dula, Institute of Technology, Nirma University, Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India, Instrumentation and Control
  • Alexey Tirtichny, St. Petersburg State University of Aerospace Instrumentation, St. Petersburg, Russia, Engineering - Information Sensors


  • Fei Qi (Doctorate), University of Alberta Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, Automation
  • Chetan Chandak (Masters), Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, Okla., Chemical Engineering
  • Jin Joo Lee (Masters), Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Electrical Engineering
  • Fan Li (Doctorate), The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Nuclear Engineering
  • Reza Saeidpourazar (Doctorate), Clemson University, Clemson, S.C., Mechanical Engineering

Scholarship origins

Norman E. Huston Scholarship provides funds from the family of Dr. Huston a former professor at the University of Wisconsin and President of ISA in 1979.

Bob and Mary Ives Scholarship provides funds by Executive Board action in honor of Ives, ISA's 2003 president.

The Paros-Digiquartz Scholarship was created by Jerome and Linda Paros to provide assistance to a student who has a special interest in instrumentation. With the Paros-Digiquartz Endowment, funds are distributed at the rate of $2,000 each year for 10 years beginning in 2007.

ISA Technical Division Scholarships: Of the 17 ISA technical divisions, several offer scholarships processed through the division. However, the Chemical and Petroleum Industries Division scholarship is processed directly through the ISA Educational Foundation Scholarship Committee.