August 2008

ISA to honor leaders, members

Once again, ISA is proud to acknowledge its members and leaders as they exemplify outstanding service and contributions to the automation industry. Below are winners who will be awarded at the ISA Honors and Awards Gala, 13 October in Houston, as part of ISA EXPO 2008.

ISA's Fellow Membership acknowledges outstanding achievements in scientific or engineering fields as recognized by ISA peers.

Walter H. Boyes (Putman Media, Inc., Aurora, Ill.): Will DuPage Section for contributions to the development and dissemination of flow measurement technology. Boyes is especially acknowledged for his contribution to the body of knowledge as writer, editor, and publisher of numerous articles and presentations on all aspects of the arts and sciences associated with the profession.

Robert L. Farmer (Siemens Energy & Automation, Inc., Bartlesville, Okla.): Tulsa Section for developing chromatography and communication technologies. Farmer is noted for a patent obtained for inventing a novel circuit, which provided a balanced load, current based transmission line for connection of analyzers to related programmers over long distances.

James J. McKinley (Kin-Tek Laboratories, Inc., La Marque, Tex.): Texas City Section for contributing to calibrating and validating analytical instruments using permeation devices. McKinley is recognized for his developments including extending the number of compounds available in permeation tubes from less than 30 to more than 500 and developing a method for certifying gas-fed permeation tubes that operate from only the vapor phase of the analyte.

Technical recognitions

The Douglas H. Annin Award acknowledges an outstanding achievement in the design, application, or development of the components in an automatic control system from the input measurement through the final control element. This year's winner is Joseph Steinke, CCI Rancho Santa Margarita, Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif., for his profound knowledge and expertise in the design, development, and application of severe service control valves.

The E.G. Bailey Award rewards excellence in the design, development or application in instrumentation and control systems in the utilities or process industries. The 2008 winner is John W. Gay, Power Max Consulting Inc., Lanhan, Md., for his outstanding technical design development and implementation of control algorithms that allow full, high generation capacity, automatically, for large fossil fuel power plants.

The Donald P. Eckman Education Award recognizes an outstanding contribution toward education and training in the science, engineering, and technology of instrumentation. The winner is Harold L.Wade, Ph.D., Wade Associates Inc., Houston, Tex., for outstanding contributions to education and training in the science, engineering, and technology of instrumentation, systems, and automation.

The UOP Technology Award notes an outstanding achievement in the conception, design, or implementation of instrumentation and/or process control in an area of activity covered by the scope of the Society's Automation & Technology Department. The 2008 award goes to Stephen W. Allison, Ph.D., Oak Ridge National Lab, Oak Ridge, Tenn., for his conception, design, and implementation of thermographics phosphors for determining structural temperatures in turbine engines and other harsh environments.

Service recognitions

The Golden Achievement Award recognizes members who have a minimum of 25 years of continuous ISA membership, continuing active service, and contributions to organizational units of the Society, and epitomizes to the membership the ideals of the Society. This year, ISA awards Randall J. Dennie (Denntech Service Inc., Sarnia, Ontario, Canada) Sarnia Section; Alan W. McMurry (Alan McMurry Consultant, Bakersfield, Calif.) Southern San Joaquin Valley Section; and Piergiuseppe Zani (Aero Products International, Trezzano Sul Naviglio, Italy) Italy Section.

The Distinguished Society Service Award rewards dedicated ISA Members who through long service have contributed to the Society and its organizational units. The 2008 awardees are Roger N. Blais, Ph.D. (University of Tulsa, Tulsa, Okla.) Test Measurement Division; John R. Campbell (ConocoPhillips, Houston, Tex.) Houston Section; Leland H. DeGraaf (Process Measurement Co., Omaha, Nebr.) Omaha Section; Dino J. DeSalvo (Lyondell Chemical, Morris, Ill.) Will DuPage Section; Michael B. Fedensyzen,(R G Vanderweil Engineers Inc, Boston, Mass.) Boston Section; H. Bruce Land III (Johns Hopkins University, Laurel, Md.) Aerospace Industries & Test Measurement Divisions; Ira E. Miller (Blair Martin Company Inc., Bakersfield, Calif.) Southern San Joaquin Valley Section; Terrence V. Molloy (CMES Inc., Novato, Calif.) Northern California Section; Robert S. Saltzman (Saltzman Associates, Wilmington, Del.) Wilmington Section; and Sheldon A. Weatherby (Spartan Controls Ltd., Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) Edmonton Section.

The Emerging Leader Award recognizes ISA Members who have made significant contributions to organizational units of the Society and its Members and have not more than 10 years of accumulated membership. Years of student membership are not included in the limitation. This year's winners are Jeff Blair (Mead O'Brien, Glen Carbon, Ill.) St. Louis Section; and Anatoly Ovodenko, Ph.D. (St. Petersburg University of Aerospace Instrumentation, St. Petersburg, Russia) St. Petersburg Section for up-and-coming leadership benefiting the Society and its members.

The Excellence in Documentation Award recognizes and encourages the presentation of significant information in instrumentation, systems, and automation. The 2008 awardees are co-authors of "Controller Tuning for Performance and Robust Stability," published in ISA 2007 Technology Updates: Jeffrey E. Arbogast, Ph.D., Air Liquide, Newark, Del.; Brent M. Beauregard, Control Stations, Inc., Tolland, Conn.; and Douglas J. Cooper, Ph.D., University of Connecticut, Storrs Mansfield, Conn.

The Don W. Thompson Award rewards exemplary efforts and achievements to encourage and support student activity and to mentor students. This year's winner is Orazio Mirabella, University di Catania, Catania, Italy, for exemplary efforts and achievements to encourage and support student activities and to mentor students.

The Corporate Sponsorship and Support Award recognizes companies that provide significant support for ISA and assist the Society in achieving its goals and objectives. This year the winners are:

  • Small Company Category: Summit Controls, Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
  • Medium Company Category:  Clark, Richardson, and Biskup, St. Louis, Mo.
  • Large Company Category:  Saudi Arabian Oil Company, Dhahran, Saudi Arabia

The Outstanding Division Award recognizes a Division of the Automation & Technology and Industries & Sciences Departments of ISA for outstanding activities and definitive reporting during the year. The 2008 winners are:

  • Automation & Technology Department:  Analysis Division
  • Industries & Sciences Department:  Power Industry Division

The Section Performance Award recognizes ISA Sections for achievements or for outstanding accomplishments in a particular area of Section activity. This year ISA recognizes:

  • Sarnia Section: Small Gold SectionsSaint Louis Section: Medium Gold Sections
  • Houston Section: Large Gold SectionsCalgary Section for outstanding accomplishment in developing an innovative sponsorship program.
  • Espirito Santo Section for outstanding accomplishment in developing a mechanism, which significantly increased membership.
  • Ireland Section for outstanding accomplishment in serving as joint organizers of the PHARMATEX 2007 Conference.