International Society of Automation News Release
Contact: Bernard H. Penney
(919) 990-9291

ISA Honors & Awards Honorees Announced

Research Triangle Park, NC (30 June 2009) - Honorees for the 47th Annual ISA Honors & Awards Program and newly elected ISA Fellows were approved by the ISA Executive Board earlier this month during the Society's annual Spring Leaders' Meeting in Indianapolis, IN.

Nominations have arrived since early January and from a pool of well over 100 names, the Honors & Awards Committee recommended a slate that includes 34 individuals, three companies, two ISA Divisions, and six ISA Sections.

Awards and recognitions are divided into several categories which include recognitions for Society service, technical accomplishments, contributions to education, and individual achievements. ISA Fellow grade is granted to acknowledge outstanding technical achievements as recognized by peers.

This year's honorees and newly elected Fellows include:

Honorary Member

Leonard W. Moore
Moore Industries International, North Hills, CA, USA

Life Achievement Award

Peter G. Martin, Ph.D.
Invensys, Foxboro, MA, USA

Arnold O. Beckman Founder Award

John C. Ziegert, Ph.D.
Clemson University International Center for Automotive Research, Greenville, SC, USA

Albert F. Sperry Founder Award

Kristofer Pister
Dust Networks, Hayward, CA, USA

ISA Analysis Division Luft Award

Jerry M. Clemons
ABB Process Analytics, Lewisburg, WV, USA

UOP Technology Award

Vince R. Dooley
Alcoa World Alumina, Attadale, Australia

Fellow Membership

Lawrence Barone, Jr.
South Coast Systems, Inc., Santa Ana, California, USA (Orange County Section)

Edson da Costa Bortoni
EFEI UNIFEI, Itajubá-mg, Brazil (Triangulo Mineiro Section)

Dennis Brandl
BR&L Consulting, Cary, North Carolina, USA (Tarheel Capital Area Section)

Eric Byres
Byres Security, Inc., Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada (British Columbia Section)

John W. Gay
Power Max Consulting, Lanham, Maryland, USA (Baltimore/Washington Section)

Ulrich Gokeler
Siemens Energy & I Automation, Inc., Houston, Texas, USA (Houston Section)

Robert Heider
Confluence Solar, St. Louis, Missouri, USA (St. Louis Section)

Marcos Peluso
Emerson Process Management - Rosemount, Chanhassen, Minnesota, USA (Twin Cities Section)

H.L. "Leo" Staples, Jr.
Oklahoma Gas & Electric, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA (Greater Oklahoma Section)

Angela E. Summers
SIS-TECH Solutions LP, Houston, Texas, USA (Houston Section)

Donald P. Eckman Education Award

Alexander V. Bobovich
NWCIT of SUAI, St. Petersburg, Russia

Don W. Thompson Award

Ian Ross
British Columbia Inst of Tech, Vancouver, BC, Canada

Golden Achievement Award

Robert M. Bailliet
Syscon International Inc., Magnolia, Texas, USA (Houston Section)

Diana C. Bouchard
Techexpressions, Montreal, Quebec, Canada (Montreal Section)

James E. Bouchard
Johnson & Johnson, Montreal, Quebec, Canada (Montreal Section)

Distinguished Society Service

Dennis J. Fundzak
Middough Inc, Brunswick, Ohio, USA (Cleveland Section)

Mike Huereca
Rawson, Houston, Texas, USA (Houston Section)

Shigeo Kuroiwa
ARC Advisory Group, Kitasaku-gun Nagano, Japan (Japan Section)

J. Todd McKinney
Westlake CA & O Corp, Paducah, Kentucky, USA (Paducah Section)

Dale C. Merriman
MerTech Inc, Houston, Texas, USA (Houston Section)

R. Russell Rhinehart, Ph.D.
Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA (Tulsa Section)

Anna Marie Spargo
Process Measurement Co, Omaha, Nebraska, USA (Omaha Section)

Emerging Leader Award
Murtaza Gandhi
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA (Baton Rouge Section)

Seth Olson
PLCs Plus International, Bakersfield, California, USA (Southern San Joaquin Valley Section)

Excellence in Documentation Award

Kevin Harris, AMETEK P&AI, Calgary, Alberta, Canada (non-member)
Randy Hauer, AMETEK P&AI, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA (Pittsburgh Section)
Dan Potter, AMETEK P&AI, Calgary, Alberta, Canada (non-member)

Standards & Practices Award

Dennis L. Brandl
BR&L Consulting, Cary, North Carolina, USA (Tarheel Capital Area Section)

Corporate Sponsorship and Recognition Award

Small Company Category: Kenexis, Columbus, Ohio, USA
Medium Company Category: Edmonton Valve & Fitting Inc., Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Large Company Category: Fluor Corporation, Southern California Division, Aliso Viejo, California, USA

To view a complete list of this year's honorees and more gala information, please visit

The accomplished award recipients will be honored at this year's Honors & Awards Gala, which is held in conjunction with ISA EXPO in Houston, Texas, USA on 5 October, at the Westin Galleria. Stephen R. Huffman, 2007 ISA President and current Chair of the Honors & Awards Committee, will be hosting the black-tie affair that includes a pre-event hosted reception, award ceremony, and dinner. Gala tickets are available to the public at $85 per ticket.

ISA's Honors & Awards Gala, now in its 47th year, is an annual event honoring individuals for the contributions to and advancement of automation across all industries. Last year's gala was attended by almost 500 guests from around the world.

For more information visit