• ISA Houston Section awards 19 college scholarships, celebrates local students' interest and aptitude in science and engineering competitions

    The ISA Houston Section in early June celebrated the scholastic achievements and engineering aptitude of college and high school students from the Houston area at its annual Scholarship Night.

     Houston Section Scholarship Winners group

    Featured from left to right (front row) are: Clifford Wuertz, ISA Houston Section President; Mary Cannon, ISA Houston Section Scholarship Chair and Student Section Liaison; Audrey Taylor, Baylor University; Hannah Reagan, Texas A&M University; Kendall Palmer, Point Park University; and Erin Matheny, University of Houston. Featured from left to right (back row) are: Nastassja Gaudet, Texas A&M University; Shalyn Hernandez, San Jacinto College; Aaron Smith, University of Houston; Corey Miles, University of Houston; Megan Owens, University of Missouri; Ryan Kraft, University of Texas; Jonathan Kraft, Indiana University; and Quyen Huynh, University of Houston.


    At the event, which was sponsored by the Houston Engineering and Scientific Society, 19 local area students received $1,000 educational scholarships as part of the section's annual scholarship program. In addition, two local high school students who competed in the 2014 Science and Engineering Fair of Houston delivered their award-winning presentations, and a Houston area high school robotics team demonstrated its robot that received an award in this year's FIRST® (For Inspiration and Recognition in Science and Technology) Robotics Competition.

    The 19 recipients of the ISA Houston Section's 2014-15 educational scholarships - a mix of current undergraduate students as well as incoming freshmen - are:

    • Audrey Taylor, Baylor University
    • Hannah Reagan, Texas A&M University
    • Kendall Palmer, Point Park University
    • Erin Matheny, University of Houston
    • Nastassja Gaudet, Texas A&M University
    • Shalyn Hernandez, San Jacinto College
    • Aaron Smith, University of Houston
    • Corey Miles, University of Houston
    • Megan Owens, University of Missouri
    • Ryan Kraft, University of Texas
    • Jonathan Kraft, Indiana University
    • Quyen Huynh, University of Houston
    • Jacqueline Gloria, Southwestern Assemblies of God University
    • Molly Movahed, Georgetown University
    • Kaitlyn Louise Neville, Lone Star College
    • Rose Simmons, University of Texas
    • Ian Galloway, Texas A&M University
    • Nathan Taylor, Texas A&M University
    • Grace Simmons, University of Texas

    In addition to the $1,000 educational gift, each winner received a free ISA student membership.

    "While the monetary value of these awards is noteworthy, these scholarships recognize these students' remarkable aptitude and outstanding potential in the fields of automation and engineering," says Mary Cannon, ISA Houston Section Scholarship Chair and Student Section Liaison. "These students also benefit through valuable mentoring and career advice from our ISA Houston Section members and access to the section's collective resources, expertise, and experience."

    To witness so many talented and energetic young people interested in science and engineering, Cannon says, "is extremely rewarding. I am gratified that our section has made this commitment to help these students reach their educational and career goals."

    Also at the event, two Houston area high school students delivered presentations that received awards at the 2014 Science and Engineering Fair of Houston held earlier this year. The fair, now in its 55th year, encourages high school students in the Houston school systems to develop and present science and engineering projects for competition.

    Ruhika Roy, of Houston's Lawrence Elkins High School, presented her project, "A Novel Sensor & Microcontroller for Vibration Detection," which received the First-Place Award in the fair's Engineering category. Roy is planning to attend Princeton University this fall.

    Ryan Bourland, a junior at Dickenson High School, presented his project "Wings Let Us Fly," which received a Fourth-Place Award in the ISA Special Awards competition at the fair.

    Also at the evening celebration, the Spectrum FIRST Robotics Team #3847, comprised of Houston area students from Saint Agnes Academy and Strake Jesuit College Preparatory, demonstrated their winning entry (Chairman's Award in the 2014 Lone Star Regional) in the 2014 FIRST® (For Inspiration and Recognition in Science and Technology) Robotics Competition.

    Each year, the FIRST Robotics Competition gives students from across the world the opportunity to build robots they designed, use sophisticated software and hardware, learn from professional engineers, compete and collaborate, earn recognition, and qualify for millions of dollars in college scholarships. ISA and the Automation Federation are strategic alliance partners of FIRST.


    Below are the seven
    scholarship recipients
    that were not present
    at the awards banquet

      Jacqueline Gloria
      Jacqueline Gloria
    Southwestern Assemblies
    of God University
      Molly Movahed
      Molly Movahed
    Georgetown University
      Kaitlyn Neville
      Kaitlyn Louise Neville
    Lone Star College
      Rose Simmons
      Rose Simmons
    University of Texas
      Ian Galloway
      Ian Galloway
    Texas A&M University
      Nathan Taylor
      Nathan Taylor
    Texas A&M University
      Grace Simmons
      Grace Simmons
    University of Texas