Do you know someone who would make a great leader for ISA? Nominations for the 2021 election are open through 1 March 2021.  Submit a nomination today.

Position descriptions, desired experience and knowledge, and time commitments for each role are provided below.

  • All nominations other than District Vice President are reviewed by the Nominating Committee
  • Any ISA member may submit a nomination
  • All eligible nominees are asked to submit a candidate packet
  • The Nominating Committee reviews and evaluates candidate packets and may conduct interviews
  • Nominations are also accepted by petition in accordance with ISA Bylaws
  • The election is open in June to eligible voters
  • District Vice Presidents nominations and elections are coordinated by the District Nominating Committee
  • Any member of the District may recommend a candidate for District Vice President


The responsibilities of each group are outlined in the Society's Manual of Organization and Procedures. Below is a list of attributes desired in all elected leaders. Also included are detailed descriptions of the responsibilities of each role. Before applying for a leadership role, please review the obligations and ensure that you are willing to and have the support from your employer and family to meet these commitments.

ISA Leadership Attributes

  • A contagious passion for promoting the ISA brand and the automation profession
  • Strong knowledge of ISA’s core competencies, products and services
  • An interest in visioning the role ISA plays in the future of the automation community
  • The desire to understand the diversity of ISA’s constituencies and a commitment to act in the overall interests of the Society
  • An understanding of basic financial principles with the ability to exercise sound business judgments
  • An innovative mindset and ability to engage and empower members in driving change to meet strategic objectives
  • Effective verbal and written communication skills
  • The ability to develop and lead teams with a willingness to hold volunteers accountable 

Position Descriptions

2020 Society Election Results 

Thank you to all nominees for their willingness to serve and all those who voted in the election.  

  • President-Elect Secretary (2022 President)
    • Carlos Mandolesi
  • Treasurer
    • Scott Reynolds
  • Executive Board Members: Geographic
    • Rajesh Rathi
    • Ashley Weckwerth
  • Executive Board Member: Operational
    • Jim Garrison
  • Executive Board Members: Technical
    • Ken Belteau
    • Prabhu Soundarrajan
  • A&T Vice President
    • Edward Naranjo
  • Image & Membership Vice President-Elect
    • Jon DiPietro
  • Standards & Practices Vice President-Elect
    • David Lee

Voter turnout reached 9.43%. All leaders will begin their term on 1 January 2021.