• ISA90, Instrumentation and Computer Grounding


    Scope

    Provide guidance to those involved in the manufacture, design installation, and maintenance of instrumentation and process computer systems for the proper grounding of these systems.

    The committee shall consider the total scope of instrument and computer grounding problems from the field transmitter to the process computer and all interconnecting wiring.

    Instrument grounding in classified as well as unclassified locations will be included.

    Protection against noise and other electrical unwanted electrical disturbances will also be a part of this recommended practice, as will analog and digital signal systems.

    Coordination and compatibility with national and international standards and codes will be the committee's responsibility.

    Purpose

    To write standards or recommended practices that will establish criteria for the electrical grounding of instrumentation and process computer systems to meet the following objectives:

    1. Minimize noise and electrical interference resulting from improper grounding practices.
    2. Insure safety of I.S. and other instrument systems in classified locations by proper grounding.
    3. Comply with the grounding requirements of the NEC and Canadian Electrical Code.
    4. Provide grounding recommendations that are compatible with other power grounding criteria.

    For more information or if you would like to join ISA90, please contact

    Eliana Brazda
    ISA Standards Administrator
    ebrazda@isa.org
    (919) 990-9228

  • Contacts

    Voting Member Chair
    James Federlein

    jimf@federlein.eng.pro
    (412)848 4261

    Voting Member
    David Brown

    dave.brown@puffer.com
    (512) 2944020

    Voting Member
    Richard Buschart

    rfellow3@aol.com
    (636) 5190282

    Voting Member
    Gurinder Garcha

    gurinder.garcha@ge.com
    (518) 3854101

    Voting Member
    Guilherme Lovisi

    grlovisi@uol.com.br
    55 552121890717

    Voting Member
    Victor Maggioli

    maggioli@wserv.com
    (302)547 6870

    Voting Member
    David Rundle


    (717) 5616275

    Voting Member
    Terry Wilford

    terry.wilford@rensys.com
    (281) 7544300

    Information Member
    James Howell

    james.m.howell.jr@apc.com
    (205) 2573369

    Information Member
    Thomas Key


    (615) 6759505

    Information Member
    Trenton Martin

    trenton.martin@deepwater.com
    (713) 2327445

    Information Member
    Horace Maxwell

    hjmaxwel@bechtel.com
    (301) 2286919

    Information Member
    Naveen Menon

    naveen_menon@praxair.com
    91 918030691030

    Information Member
    Gary Miller

    garymee@eei.org
    (202) 5085173

    Information Member
    Alejo Moreno

    iei@entelchile.net
    56 5622041868

    Information Member
    William Mostia

    wlmostia@msn.com
    (713) 9092139

    Information Member
    Jim Ramlein


    (414) 2628000

    Information Member
    Jerry Rockhold


    (206) 5227186

    Information Member
    Zalo Shulimovitch

    zaloshul@gmail.com
    972 97248466038

    Information Member
    Malcom Thaden


    (202) 8722713

    Information Member
    Robert Thomas

    rthoma3@citgo.com
    (630) 2574934

    Information Member
    Ian Verhappen

    iverhappen@industrialautomationnetworks.com

    Information Member
    Dennis Williams

    drwilliams@clearsource.net
    (361) 2424350

    Information Member
    Donald Zipse

    don.zip@ieee.org
    (610) 3581462