• ISA77.40, Fossil Fuel Power Plant Functional Diagram Usage


    Scope

    The technical report, ISA-TR5.1.01-ISA-TR77.40.01-2012, Functional Diagram Usage, expands upon and illustrates usage of function block symbols and functions, and prepares examples in development of complex function block symbols and functions.

    Purpose

    The purpose of this technical report is to provide advice and guidance in documenting application software through functional diagrams.

    A Word from the Chairman

    This report is an extension of ANSI/ISA-5.1-2009, Instrumentation Symbols and Identification. The intent of this report is to provide further information and practical examples on the usage of Functional Diagrams for documenting application software. In addition, the intent of this report is to illustrate the similarities and differences between ISA and ISO symbols and functional diagrams. It is hoped that this report will be a handy reference to design engineers who are directly involved in the generation or review of function diagrams.

    Functional diagrams were first employed when discrete and electric analog control systems were designed. Professional societies such as Scientific Apparatus Makers Association (SAMA), ISA, and ISO provided guidelines as to industry usage of functional diagrams. The popular but older standards: PMC 22.1-1981, Functional Diagramming of Instrument and Control Systems; ISA 5.2-1976, Binary Logic Diagram for Process Operation; and ISO 3511, Graphical Symbols for Diagrams are available for industry use. The work within this technical report maintains historical practices while expanding on new algorithms and practices.

    For more information, please contact the subcommittee chairman Dan Lee, or Eliana Brazda, ISA Standards Administrator, via ebrazda@isa.org or phone (919) 990-9228.

  • Contacts

    Voting Member Chair
    Daniel Lee

    dan.lee@us.abb.com
    (440) 5856063

    Voting Member
    Donald Andrasik

    dandrasik@md.metrocast.net
    (301) 8844969

    Voting Member
    Charles Carter

    ccarter@lee.edu
    (281) 4256473

    Voting Member
    Danny Crow

    danny.crow@invensys.com
    (972) 5643854

    Voting Member
    Alan Davison

    alan.davison@fluor.com
    (403) 5374377

    Voting Member
    Oluwatoyin Fasasi

    oluwatoyin.fasasi@shell.com
    234 23 - 8423721

    Voting Member
    William Hocking

    bill.hocking@schneider-electric.com
    (860) 2653669

    Voting Member
    Victor Hung

    yiv@pdvsa.com
    58 582812604879

    Voting Member
    Edgar Hutchins

    echutchinsjr@aep.com
    (918) 5993177

    Voting Member
    Richard Marshall

    rmarshall@controlsolve.com
    (913) 4067611

    Voting Member
    Navin Pandey

    navinpandey@yahoo.com

    Voting Member
    Mukesh Pandya

    mdpandya@southernco.com
    (404) 5063288

    Voting Member
    David Roney

    david.roney@aecom.com
    (303)884 2674

    Voting Member
    Karl Sefton

    sefton@qp.com.qa
    974- 009744343323

    Voting Member
    Cyrus Taft

    cwtaft@taftengineering.com
    (865) 8504460

    Voting Member
    Duncan Turner

    tteng10@bigpond.com
    61 61862187294

    Voting Member
    Ian Verhappen

    iverhappen@industrialautomationnetworks.com
    4039900955

    Voting Member
    Allan Zadiraka

    ajzadiraka@gmail.com
    (234) 7384578

    Information Member
    Gary Cohee

    garyacohee@aol.com
    (409) 7901945

    Information Member
    Alan Erickson

    alerickson@gmail.com
    (816) 3228490

    Information Member
    Ravi Jethra

    djethra@aol.com
    (240) 6298381

    Information Member
    Gordon McFarland

    gordonrmc@aol.com
    (706) 4856729

    Information Member
    Nobuyuki OGURA

    nobu.ogura@nifty.com
    81 81294354438

    Information Member
    John Plenge

    jwesleyplenge@me.com
    (540) 3877741

    Information Member
    Charley Robinson

    crobinson@isa.org
    (919) 9909213

    Information Member
    Michael Skoncey

    dandarconstruction@msn.com
    (724) 4956151

    Information Member
    R. Swart

    rswartconsultancy@gmail.com
    31(1)653752269

    Information Member
    Britt Teegarden

    britt.teegarden@snclavalin.com
    (425) 4898166