• ISA75.24, Control Valve Actuator Sizing and Selection


    Scope

    Identify the forces that act on closure components and actuators. Describe how these forces work in the positioning of closure components. Prepare equations required to determine an actuator (i.e. pneumatic, hydraulic, or electric) size based on piston or effective diaphragm area and spring characteristics.

    This subcommittee will address control valves that directly transmit actuator linear motion to the closure components. This would normally include such styles as globe and cage valves.

    Purpose

    This subcommittee has been formed to determine the forces and system parameters that influence control valve actuator sizing requirements, and to develop standards or technical reports and to interpret and promote the technology involved for the sizing and selection of control valve actuators. Forces related to the valve, actuator, and process will be identified. Equations will be developed for the solution of these forces, and the resulting actuator sizing selection criteria will be established.

    ISA Meetings

    ISA75.24 was recently reactivated to work on ISA-TR75.24.01, Linear Pneumatic Control Valve Actuator Sizing and Selection. If you are interested in participating in this work, please contact ISA75.24 Chair Vince Mezzano or ISA Staff Contact Eliana Brazda.

    For information about upcoming ISA75 and ISA96 meetings, please visit the ISA75 page.

    For more information, please contact

    Eliana Brazda
    ISA Standards Administrator
    ebrazda@isa.org
    (919) 990-9228

  • Contacts

    Voting Member Chair
    Vincent Mezzano

    vince.mezzano@fluor.com
    (281)263 4180

    Voting Member Managing Director
    Vincent Mezzano

    vince.mezzano@fluor.com
    (281)263 4180

    Voting Member Managing Director
    Warren Weidman

    wcweidman@yahoo.com
    (610) 5824257

    Voting Member
    Stephen Boyle

    sjbdc@aol.com

    Voting Member
    Fred Cain

    fcain@flowserve.com
    (801) 4892307

    Voting Member
    Charles Crawford

    ccrawfocl@aol.com
    (502) 8961538

    Voting Member
    Richard Davis

    richd@flexitallic.com
    (281) 2921264

    Voting Member
    Michael Glavin

    michael.glavin@c-a-m.com
    (508) 7134816

    Voting Member
    John Harkins

    harkinsjf@beld.net
    (781) 8430925

    Voting Member
    David Leese

    dleese@atiactuators.com
    (713) 8285752

    Voting Member
    Gerald Liu

    gerald.liu@shaw.ca
    (403) 4556968

    Voting Member
    Prentiss Mariam

    lyle.mariam@lvvwd.com
    (702) 8600789

    Voting Member
    David Martin

    dave@valvesolutions.co.uk
    44 441274531992

    Voting Member
    Horace Maxwell

    hmaxwell@hainesfire-risk.com
    (717)778 7470

    Voting Member
    Robert McEver

    bmcever@sbcglobal.net
    (713) 2720979

    Voting Member
    Sekhar Samy

    sekhar.samy@imi-critical.com
    (949)835 8208

    Voting Member
    Jorge Vergara

    jorge_vergara@sunoil.com
    (215) 3395405

    Voting Member
    James Young

    jayoung@dow.com
    (979) 2389703

    Alternate Member
    Alan Glenn

    aglenn@flowserve.com
    (801) 4892325

    Staff Contact
    Eliana Brazda

    ebrazda@isa.org
    (919) 9909228