• ISA50.3, Data Link Subcommittee


    Scope

    To develop standards for signals used in process measurement and control, to transmit information between subsystems or separated elements of systems. Such signals may be analog or digital. However, data highway and other time-shared transmission paths, such as those within the scope of ISA72, are excluded.

    Purpose

    To define a common interface between components of electronic measurements and/or control systems.

    A Word from the Chairman

    Richard Caro, Chairman of ISA50 since 1993, and Cullen Langford, Chairman from 1987 to 1993, wish to thank everyone who participated in the development of the ISA-50.02 Fieldbus standards. The standards were administratively withdrawn as ANSI standards and have now also been withdrawn as ISA standards as they are no longer in use due to the issuance and acceptance of a more current IEC 61158 standards series.

    The technical report ISA-TR50.02, Parts 3 & 4, Fieldbus Standard for Use in Industrial Control Systems, Parts 3 & 4, TR1: Technical Report for Fieldbus Data Link Layer - Tutorial, under the coordination of Patrizio Leviti, is still in use. This tutorial explains the "why" and "how" relevant to "what" has been included in the Data Link Layer standards. This document addresses those who have not had any contact with the Data Link Layer Standards, now a part of the IEC 61158 standards series.

    The tutorial eases the initial review of the Data Link Layer Standards by 1) presenting the particular reasons why some of the features have been included; 2) describing its main features; and 3) making simple examples or graphic representations of these features. The tutorial goes into further detail by 1) linking separate parts of the standards relevant either to the same subject or to related items; and 2) making detailed examples of this Data Link Layer mechanism.

    Ashok Gupta 
    ISA50.3 Chair

    For more information, please contact

    Eliana Brazda
    ISA Standards Administrator
    ebrazda@isa.org
    (919) 990-9228

  • Contacts

    Voting Member Chair
    Ashok Gupta

    agupta@aniotek.com
    (732) 2742648

    Voting Member
    Salvatore Cavalieri

    salvatore.cavalieri@diit.unict.it
    39 390957382362

    Voting Member
    Robert Crowder

    r.crowder@comcast.net
    (610) 3450033

    Voting Member
    Bernard Dumortier

    iec@bdumortier.com
    333632056403

    Voting Member
    David Hewitson

    david.hewitson@ronan.com
    (818) 8883521

    Voting Member
    Toru Ito

    itou-tooru@fujielectric.co.jp
    81 8142584430

    Voting Member
    Vincent Jacobson

    vince@yourdevelopmentteam.com
    (612) 9061454

    Voting Member
    Jean-paul Lerare

    lerare@cegelec-red.fr
    33 3314629159

    Voting Member
    Patrizio Leviti

    patrizio.leviti@power.alstom.com
    39 390226232783

    Voting Member
    Lutz Oreans

    oreanslu@khe.scn.de
    49

    Voting Member
    Tom Phinney

    tom.phinney@cox.net

    Voting Member
    Libanio Souza

    libanio@smar.com.br
    55 55166456455

    Voting Member
    Robert Webb

    rcw4@ix.netcom.com
    (360) 3943692

    Voting Member
    Graeme Wood

    gwood@iee.org
    44 441883627797

    Information Member
    Paul Andreassen

    paul.andreassen@fieldnet.no
    4793030193

    Information Member
    Antony Capel

    capel@comgate.com
    (613) 2354778

    Information Member
    Klaus-Peter Lindner

    klaus-peter.lindner@solutions.endress.com
    41(61)7157348

    Information Member
    Orazio Mirabella

    omirabel@diit.unict.it
    39 3995732361

    Information Member
    Rajkumar Rajendran

    yokofoxshell@yahoo.com
    919902058625

    Information Member
    Kang Shin

    kgshin@eecs.umich.edu
    (313) 9470609

    Information Member
    Ian Verhappen

    iverhappen@industrialautomationnetworks.com

    Information Member
    Qi YAN

    qi.yan@emerson.com
    86 13918009479