ISA S&P department awards for 2015

ISA’s Standards and Practices (S&P) department annually publishes 15 to 20 standards and technical reports that improve the safety, cybersecurity, and efficiency of industrial processes. Each year the department’s governing body, the ISA S&P board, presents department-level awards to recognize outstanding work and leadership that have resulted in these documents or in a significant outcome for an ISA standards committee.

Nichols P. Sands
Nicholas P. Sands, 2015–16 vice president, ISA Standards and Practices

The contributions of 31 individuals were recognized by the board for 2015. Announcing the awards was Nicholas P. Sands of DuPont, 2015–16 vice president of the S&P department. Sands, who also serves as co-chair of ISA18, was an award winner himself for his work on ISA101 on the development of ISA’s first human-machine interface (HMI) standard.

In addition, three individuals received awards for their work and contributions on two separate standards projects: Angela Summers, PhD, of SIS-Tech Solutions, Herman Storey of Herman Storey Consulting, and Bridget Fitzpatrick of Wood Group Mustang.

ISA101 Human-Machine Interface

The co-chairmen of ISA101 were honored for their leadership and expertise in the development of ANSI/ISA-101.01-2015, Human Machine Interfaces for Process Automation Systems:

  • Greg Lehmann, AECOM
  • Maurice Wilkins, Yokogawa

In addition, the following people were recognized for their technical contributions to the development of the standard:

  • John Benitz, Jr., Gray Matter Systems
  • Alan Bryant, Oxy
  • Bridget Fitzpatrick, Wood Group Mustang
  • Traci Laabs, Pfizer Global Manufacturing
  • David Lee, User Centered Design Services
  • Ian Nimmo, User Centered Design Services
  • Mark Nixon, Emerson Process Management
  • Dale Reed, Rockwell Automation
  • Nicholas Sands, DuPont
  • Dawn Schweitzer, Eastman Kodak
  • Beth Vail, AECOM

ISA108 Intelligent Device Management

Awards were presented to the co-chairmen of ISA108 for their leadership and expertise in the development of ISA-TR108.1-2015, Intelligent Device Management Part 1: Concepts and Terminology:

  • Koji Demachi, Yokogawa
  • Herman Storey, Herman Storey Consulting

ISA18 Instrument Signals and Alarms

Awards were presented to the following working group chairs for their leadership and expertise in developing a series of technical reports that augment ISA18’s groundbreaking standard, ANSI/ISA-18.2, Management of Alarm Systems for the Process Industries:

ISA-TR18.02.5, Alarm System Monitoring, Assessment, and Audit

  • Donald Dunn, ISA18 co-chair, Phillips 66
  • Bill Hollifield, PAS

ISA-TR18.02.6, Alarm Systems for Batch and Discrete Processes

  • Joseph Alford, Consultant
  • Bridget Fitzpatrick, Wood Group Mustang

ISA-TR18.2.4, Enhanced and Advanced Alarm Methods

  • Douglas Metzger, DPM Consulting
  • John Huhman, Motiva Enterprises

ISA-TR18.2.3, Basic Alarm Design

  • Todd Stauffer, exida
  • Patrick O’Donnell, BP

ISA99 Security for Industrial Automation & Control Systems

Two ISA99 working group leaders were recognized for their leadership and technical expertise. Recognized for ISA-TR62443-2-3-2015, Security for Industrial Automation and Control Systems Part 2-3: Patch Management in the IACS environment:

  • William Cotter, 3M

For ISA-62443-3-2, Security for Industrial Automation and Control Systems Part 3-2: Security Risk Assessment and System Design:

  • John Cusimano, aeSolutions

ISA84 Functional Safety

The following individuals were recognized for their technical expertise in the development of ISA-TR84.00.04-2015, Part 1, Guidelines for the Implementation of ANSI/ISA-84.00.01-2004 (IEC 61511):

  • Bill Hearn, SIS-Tech Solutions
  • Kevin Klein, Chevron
  • Angela Summers, PhD, SIS-Tech Solutions

Summers received a second award for her leadership and expertise in the development of ISA-TR84.00.02, Safety Integrity Level (SIL) Verification of Safety Instrumented Functions.

ISA100 Wireless Systems for Automation

Four individuals were recognized for their technical contributions to the development of ANSI/ISA-TR100.15.01, Backhaul Architecture Model: Secured Connectivity over Untrusted or Trusted Networks:

  • Pat Brett, Honeywell
  • William Hodson, Consultant
  • Herman Storey, ISA100 co-chair, Herman Storey Consulting
  • Steve Venema, Boeing

ISA104 Device Integration

The chairman of ISA104, Terry Blevins of Emerson Process Management, was recognized for his long-time leadership, dedication, and technical expertise.

Have an idea for an ISA standard, book, training course, conference topic, or other product or service? Send it to For information about viewing or obtaining ISA standards and technical reports, visit For information about ISA Standards, contact Charley Robinson, ISA Standards,, +1-919-990-9213.