ISA Certified Automation Professional (CAP) program

  • Certification Review

Certified Automation Professionals (CAPs) are responsible for the direction, design, and deployment of systems and equipment for manufacturing and control systems.

CAP question

Which ISA standard specifies requirements for the assessment, design, installation, operation, and maintenance of Safety Instrumented Systems (SIS)?

A. ISA 88
B. ISA 99
C. ISA 84
D. ISA 95

CAP Answer

The answer is C: "ISA 84".

In response to a recognized the need for an improved approach in handling process sector functional safety issues, ISA developed and approved ISA 84 originally in 1996. Subsequently, the standard was updated in 2004 to provide harmonization with IEC 61511.

OSHA endorsed IEC 61511 / ISA 84 as a "national consensus standard" in a March, 2000, and reaffirmed this determination in 2005. This letter states that the standard is considered "a recognized and generally accepted good engineering practice" for SIS.

ISA 88 is a is a standard addressing batch process control. It is a design philosophy for describing equipment and procedures.

ISA 99 is a standard that prescribes procedures for implementing electronically secure industrial automation and control systems and security practices and for assessing electronic security performance.

ISA 95 is a standard for developing automated interfaces between enterprise and control systems.

Reference: Trevathan, Vernon L., A Guide to the Automation Body of Knowledge, 2nd Ed., 2006

Reader Feedback

We want to hear from you! Please send us your comments and questions about this topic to

Like This Article?

Subscribe Now!

About The Author