ISA Certified Control Systems Technician (CCST) program

Certified Control System Technicians (CCSTs) calibrate, document, troubleshoot, and repair/replace instrumentation for systems that measure and control level, temperature, pressure, flow, and other process variables.

CCST question

What standard that defines quality policy and procedures is recognized as the "de facto" requirement for doing business in Europe?

A. ISA-12.12.01
B. ISO 9000
C. NFPA 70

CCST Answer
The correct answer is B, ISO 9000.

ISO 9000 is a set of standards developed in Europe that covers many aspects of quality management. The standard named ISO 9000 is titled: ISO 9000:2015: Quality management systems - Fundamentals and vocabulary. ISO 9000 has also been adopted widely in the U.S. as the baseline for quality management.

One standard in the ISO 9000 family is ISO 9001:2015: Quality management systems - Requirements. This is the standard for which organizations apply for certification. An organization applying for ISO 9001 certification is audited based on an extensive sample of its sites, functions, products, services, and processes. ISO 9001 certification is administered by qualified certification bodies.

Reference: Goettsche, L.D. (Editor), Maintenance of Instruments and Systems, Second Edition, ISA, 2005.

Reader Feedback

We want to hear from you! Please send us your comments and questions about this topic to InTechmagazine@isa.org.

Like This Article?

Subscribe Now!

About The Author