Becoming an ISA Certified Control System Technician® (CCST®) is a mark of career excellence that affirms your commitment to quality and demonstrates your expertise and knowledge of of automation and control systems. It provides a non-biased, third-party, objective assessment and confirmation of your skills as a control systems technician.

Who Are CCSTs?

Working in process automation and manufacturing automation industries around the globe, CCSTs are an elite group of automation and control technicians that have proven they possess an extensive knowledge of automation and control systems. CCSTs calibrate, document, troubleshoot, and repair/replace instrumentation for systems that measure and control level, temperature, pressure, flow, and other process variables. They are skilled in pneumatic, mechanical, and electronic instrumentation.They understand process control loops and process control systems, including computer based systems. 

What is the difference between the CCST program and the NICET Certification? 
NICET, the National Institute for Certification in Engineering Technologies, offers a four-level certification program for instrumentation engineering technologists. The CCST program is designed specifically for the control systems technician, and is more application-focused.

CCST Levels

There are three levels of certification offered for control system technicians. All certification levels provide a non-biased, third-party, objective assessment and confirmation of an automation technician’s knowledge of and experience with project start-up, commissioning, loop-check, project organization, planning, and documentation.

Certified Control System Technician Level I
With a five-year minimum education and experience requirement, earning this certification confirms that you possess vast knowledge of calibration, maintenance, repair, and troubleshooting.

Certified Control System Technician Level Il—Specialist
With a seven-year minimum education and experience requirement, this certification demonstrates Level l knowledge, as well as some knowledge of administration, supervision, or management.

Certified Control System Technician Level Ill—Master
This certification demonstrates Levels l and ll knowledge, including an extensive knowledge of administration, supervision, or management, and has a thirteen-year minimum education, training, and/or experience requirement.

CCST Exam and Review Course

Ready to take one of the CCST exams? Submit payment for Level I exam fee, Level II - Specialist exam fee, or the Level lll - Master exam fee. You will be emailed one month before the beginning of your assigned testing window with next steps to schedule an exam.

Need further preparation? Enroll in one of the CCST review courses, which also includes the exam fee in the course price. Visit the Prepare for the CCST Exam page to view course format options.

CCST Body of Knowledge (BOK)

The CCST BOK defines automation project domains, the tasks within the domains, and the knowledge and skills required to complete the tasks. CCST exams cover four major domains that have been organized based on the findings in a recent CCST job task analysis study. To see a complete explanation of the domains and the percentage of exam questions included from each domain, visit the CCST Body of Knowledge page.

CCST Requirements

To become an ISA CCST, you must meet certain education and work experience requirements, pass an exam, and commit to the ISA Code of Ethics. Learn more about CCST requirements.

Prepare for a CCST Exam

ISA has developed an extensive library of training courses, study guides and reference publications that are built around the technologies and topics covered on the CCST exams. These resources have been developed and reviewed by subject matter experts. Learn how to prepare for the CCST exam.

Reference to Standards and Codes

The aspects of the control systems technician profession covered on the ISA Certified Control Systems Technician exams reflect the tasks performed in practice settings throughout the United States. Download the Reference to Standards and Codes (PDF).

  • ISA Standards
  • International Organization for Standardization (ISO) Standards
  • National Institute of Standards and Technologies (NIST) Standards
  • Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) Codes and Federal Regulations
  • National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) Codes and Standards
  • National Electrical Code (NEC)
  • National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) Standards
  • US Food and Drug Administration Regulations
  • Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Standards

For International applicants, note that the validation study for the exams was done in the United States, so there may be questions on the exams that reference US standards and codes.